Phobos Rising

Phobos Rising Cover v3.0.0 ebook

Buy Now

The second book of the Ephialtes Trilogy, Phobos Rising, was released 10 October 2017.

Phobos Rising is available in ebook and paperback formats from all Amazon stores.

“A worthy successor to the first book in the series. This is an impressively complex novel about interplanetary political maneuvering and military strategy, as well as the challenges of independence and the seeming impossibility of peace . . . a riveting read.”

Self-Publishing Review

“Conflict, both military and ethical, abounds in the mid-23rd century, setting the scene for a swashbuckling military science fiction saga with intricate subplots and more characters and points of view than a Russian novel.  Parker writes well, the action riding a high-speed rail through layers of technology, deteriorating chains of command, moral dilemmas, and military insight.”

US Review of Books



Ephialtes Trilogy

The Ephialtes Trilogy is a series of three books set in the twenty-third century. The story centres on the conflict arising between the dominant nation on Earth, the USAN, and its colony on Mars.

When the leading industrialist on Mars, Charles Venkdt, polls the Martian population on self-determination he receives a powerful mandate and proceeds with proclaiming independence.

In the USAN this is met with consternation, and the president controversially decides to refit the massive orbiting dropship carrier Ephialtes for interplanetary spaceflight.

News of the impending arrival of Ephialtes galvanises the Martians, who in turn set about quickly forming an army and building defences.

The first book of the series, Ephialtes, was released on Amazon Kindle and paperback on 22 September 2015.  Phobos Rising, the second book of the series, was released 10 October 2017.

The main novel trilogy is complemented by a series of short stories, The Ephialtes Shorts, set in the same fictional universe. The first four shorts, See the Worlds, A Cold Wind Blows, Son of New York and Be All You Can Be are available individually or anthologized in The Ephialtes Shorts Collection.   The collection includes the previously unreleased Ephialtes Short V:  Why Am I So Clever?